How to Delete Discord Account

Published on: Sep 7, 2022 • 5 min read
  Steve


avatar maker

Discord is a great platform if you want to chat with friends online, explore servers, and join communities with like-minded people all over the world.

Nonetheless, you might not like some things about the platform, which is totally okay.

In this case, perhaps you want to delete your Discord account, but how do you do it? This post on our site will guide you through the following matters:

  • How to delete Discord account;
  • What to know before you delete your Discord account;
  • Best ways to delete your account on Discord.

Deleting vs. Disabling Discord Account

Users have two options when deleting their Discord account: they either temporarily disable it or delete it forever.

When your Discord account gets disabled, you are able to recover it later.

Maybe you just want to take a break from the platform, which is why the disable account button is so useful.

But if you don’t want to access your profile anymore, then permanently delete a Discord account and entirely forget about it.

All in all, both disabling and deleting are great alternatives that depend entirely on your current needs on the platform, so think it through before choosing one of them.

How to Delete Discord Account

If you are entirely sure that you want to delete a Discord account, then it’s time to do it.

Just keep in mind that account removal is permanent and you won’t be able to recover it at all.

So, let’s get rid of your Discord profile and start the account deletion process as soon as you have a chance!

Step 1: Open Discord and Go to User Settings

First of all, log in to your Discord account on your computer.

These are the steps for deleting your account on desktop - worry not, we’ll get to the steps on mobile.

Thus, open Discord on your desktop browser, and proceed with these steps.

Step 2: Scroll Down the Discord Account Tab

You will see a little gear icon at the left corner of the left side menu, right next to your profile icon.

Tap on it, and you will open the User Management menu.

Here, select Account on the left sidebar, and proceed.

Step 3: Click on the Delete Account Button and Type In Your Password

Scroll down to the bottom of this desktop page, and you will see the Delete account button.

Press “Delete Account” button, and a dialog box popping will appear.

You will also see the Disable Account button next to it - ignore it, unless you just want to take a break.

The platform will prompt you to input your password - do so only if you want to complete the deletion process.

Once you do it, the platform will take two weeks to delete your account, but after this period, your account will be deleted forever.

Optional: Transfer Ownership of Discord Server

If you are a server manager, it would be a good idea to transfer ownership of your servers before you get your account entirely deleted.

In fact, this is a requirement only if you are a user admin, so this is what you have to do:

  1. Open user settings on your mobile device or computer;
  2. Select Members and the admins of all the servers you own will show here;
  3. Go to server settings, and click on the three dots right next to the user name of the person you want to make admin;
  4. Select Transfer Ownership, and they will now become the admins.

Since your server is now managed by another Discord user, you can successfully proceed to delete a Discord account without major problems.

If someone deleted their account and you want to see their old messages, you can learn how to see deleted messages on Discord here.

How to Delete Discord Account On Discord App

You can also delete your account directly on your phone or mobile device. In order to do so, complete the following steps:

  1. Open Discord mobile version, log in to your account, and go to User Settings;
  2. Once you open User Settings, go to the My Account section;
  3. Scroll down for a bit, and find the Delete Account button. Press Delete Account and input your password to confirm your decision.

Can I Reactivate Deleted Discord Account?

As soon as you press the Delete Account option and input your password, your account will move into a Pending Deletion Status.

This status lasts for 2 weeks, so if you log back in before these 14 days pass, you will be able to recover your old account.

Make sure to transfer all the server ownerships before you entirely delete account, whether you do so on mobile or desktop.

Likewise, two-factor authentication might be required by the platform in order to successfully delete your profile.

If two weeks pass and your account is now forever gone, you would need to create a new one if you want to use Discord. For more Discord tips, Launch Kit has got you covered!

FAQ

Will Discord Messages Appear If You Delete Your Account?

Not at first - your Discord messages will still appear for a while with another profile picture and a new username. The process of deleting each Discord message you have made is different, but once 14 days pass, these messages will indeed be deleted.



tools › How to Delete Discord Account
All product, service and company names are trademarks, or registered® trademarks of their respective holders. Use of them does not imply any affiliation with or endorsement by them.
© 2021-2023 Launch Kit • All rights reserved